The Kailasa Yantra
The Yantra

Consecration and Enlivening

Usually, the scriptures describe elaborate karmakanda rituals for the pranapratishthaa and yantra sidhhi. But in case of the Kapali's Kailasa Yantra, more importance is given to the adept (mantrika, yantra sidhha).

Each Yantra involves a specific Deity's power. Therefore, a yantra has to be consecrated by the adept who has attained sidhhi of that particular mantra of that particular Deity.

power of

The VajraGuru

In this case, the ritual of pranapratisthaa is to be done by the adept who is a proficient mantrika having achieved certain powers by propitiating Guru Padmasambhava by the japa of the VajraGuru mantra with specific number of recitals in a specific place. Thus, the power of the Kailasa Yantra mainly comes from the VajraGuru – who is worshipped both as a Guru and as a Bhairava.

Sri Kailasa Yantra Pujan Muhurta

The process of enlivening the Yantra starts during the auspicious time of yantra nirmana itself, when the divine geometry is first inscribed on the divine metal. Further consecration rituals are performed during specific yogas which are referred to as 'Sri Kailasa Yantra pujan muhurta'.

We have been publishing these muhurtas as well as the yantra making yogas in our 'Tantrika Panchanga' since last 15 years. Also, we have been performing these since almost 18 years till date.

Most of the Kapali's Kailasa Yantra are custom made (like gold, silver and large sthaapan yantras) where the wearer of the yantra/client is given the choice to participate in the puja rituals, although it is not mandatory.
the Kapali's

Guruparamparic Tradition

The consecration and pranapratishthaa rituals are mainly according to the Kapalika 'guruparamparic' tradition, the highlight of which is as follows:

The consecration of the Magic Square involves,

  • worship of Shiva Mahadeva and Uma
  • the consecration of Nava-ank (numeric power) 1 to 9 because numbers are divine entities having their own specific ‘prabhava’.
  • the consecration of the Navagrahas, one in each square as worshipped in all yajna rituals and as described in the Gargasamhita. The propitiation of the nine planets and ‘Navagraha Shanti’ is a necessary and primary step for the attainment of any goals, and is mandatory in all rituals.

  • the consecration of the NavaDurgas Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahaguari, Siddhidatri and related rituals as per the Durga Saptashati in each of the Nine Squares.

  • According to the tradition, Devi is ‘trigunamayi’ ie. having 3 attributes – tamas, rajas and sattva embodied as Mahakali, Mahalakshami and Mahasaraswati. Mahalakshami, propitiated as the Mahishasura Mardini is of main importance. In her 12 or 18 hands she holds several objects and mudras amongst which are the 9 astras (weapons) that destroy evil. The ‘Nava Ayudha’ or the Nine Divine Weapons are consecrated, one in each of the nine squares viz. parashu, gada, kulisha, dhanusha, danda, shakti, shula, pasha and sudarshana chakra.

The Magic Square is the seat of Ichhashakti, so the ‘desire’ as the sankalpa is imbibed in the Yantra during these rituals and necessary numerics, planets, Durgas and ayudhas are propitiated in particular. For instance, numeric tri (3), Jupiter, Brahmacharini and pasha in case of intellectual pursuits; numeric shat (6), Venus, Sidhhidatri and chakra in case of monetary gains etc.

The numerics and planets give stability to one’s desire, Durgas give the power and the Nine Weapons destroy all evil influences that may affect us.

The consecration of the 8 trigrams involve,

  • the propitiation of the AshtaVinayaka Ganapatis namely Mayureshwara, Sidhhivinayaka, Ballaleshwar, Varadavinayaka, Chintamani Ganesh, Girijatmaja, Vighneshwara and Mahaganapati as the remover of all
  • the consecration of the Eight Manifestations of Guru Padmasambhava as Guru Senge Dradrog, Dorje Drolo, Pema Gyalpo, Nyima Ozer, Loden Chokse, Shakya Senge, Pema Jungne and as Rinpoche In sanskrit they are known as Guru Padmaraja, Suryabhasa, Matival Vararuchi, Padmasambhava, Sakyasimha, Simhanada, Padmakara and Guru Vajra.

  • the consecration of the Eight Herukas Yamantaka, Hayagriva, Vajrapani, Mahottara, Vajrakilaya, Matarah, Lokastotrapujanatha and Vajramantrabhiru of the Nyingma Mahayoga tradition as instructed by Guru Padmasambhava.
  • thereafter the elaborate chatushasthi(64) Yogini and Bhairava pujan is commenced and the Ashta Bhairavas with their Yoginis are consecrated in the Yantra Asitanga – Brahmani, Ruru – Maheshwari, Chanda – Kaumari, Krodha – Vaishnavi, Unmatta – Varahi, Kapala – Indrani, Bheeshan – Chandi, Samhara – Chamundi. This is the principal layer of the Yantra being the seat of Kriyashakti, providing immense power along with the guidance of the Guru. Whoever experiences the power of the Bhairava and the Guru will never be the same ever!

The consecration of the 12 ZODIAC involves,

  • the worship and the consecration of the Sun and the 12 Adityas who are related to the 12 Zodiac signs as follows : Dhata in mesha, Aryama in vrsha, Mitra in mithuna, Varuna in karka, Sakra in simha, Vivasvan in kanya, Pushan in tula, Parjanya in vrischika, Amsuman in dhanu, Bhaga in makara, Tvashta in kumbha and Vishnu in meena rashis
  • the consecration of the 27 nakshatra devatas that comprise the zodiac 2 1/4 nakshatra for each sign. In ritual tradition, not the zodiac signs, but the 27 constellations are divine entities each attributed with a specific deity viz. Ashwini- the Ashwinikumaras, Bharani-Yama, Krittika-Vahni etc.

  • the consecration of the 12 Shiva Jyotirlignas Somnath, Vaidyanath etc.

The last layer of Yantra as the Zodiac denotes the whole universe symbolizing that which is beyond. It is the seat of Jnanashakti because according to our religious tradition, knowledge comes from the universe and is received by the soul – both of them being boundless in nature. Thus, the dictum “As above So below”

To prove His boundlessness Shiva appeared to Brahma & Vishnu in the form of a pillar of light having neither a starting nor an ending. Thus, they were called Jyotirlingas. Jyoti in the scriptures, denotes ‘the one who can see’ like in ‘Jyotisha’ (the science to see) for astrology. This ability is achieved only through Enlightened knowledge. Knowledge shows us the path to walk on without which achievement of goals is not possible.


Get Free Advice

If you have any kind of problems, please fill up the following form using your details. Our consultant will contact you and provide you with the proper guidance.


    error: Content is protected !!